WWE Night of Champions Preview
By Ray The Rambler

You don’t need an email address to comment. Or do you have to register.

Matches have been hyped, they’re all ready to go at it, now all that is left, is the PPV. I’m sure most of you are excited for the event, I know their will be a few people who come to this site that won’t be excited, however, the majority are. As a WWE fan, we always want our questions answered and to see ‘what happens next’ is worth paying for and worth the wait. Major conflict has been arising, champions could be walking out with nothing. What will happen? Who will walk out triumphant? Will Orton give up the title against Henry as this feud is fresh? All these are simple questions we’re asking as Night of Champions is arising. Lets run down through the matches for the event.

Divas’ Championship: Kelly Kelly vs Beth Phoenix
Kelly has had her fun as champ and has improved in the ring. There’s no denying that, whether you like her or despise her like I do. She even got a big win over Beth at Summerslam. Now it’s the Glamazon’s time to shine. Otherwise this entire angle is pointless. So yea, pretty sure Beth will walk away from Night of Champions successful.

Tag Team Championship: Air Boom vs Awesome Truth
Just as I claimed weeks ago, the Tag Team Division is merely getting a boost because the whole gimmick of the PPV is that every match is a title match (except the obvious one). I like Miz/Truth, as they are entertaining on the mic, well, not really Miz, but working with Truth, he’s better than flying solo. But I don’t think Kofi/Bourne are done yet. I see a victory for Air Boom so that this feud can be extended for the next couple of months. Hell, it’ll keep all four guys busy. There’s no way the division will reach JeriShow levels of awesomeness, but the potential is there. Like, what else could these four guys do after this feud? I think they’ll be more than great full that they have a slot on the card, and will do their utter best to impress us.


Intercontinental Championship: Cody Rhodes vs Ted DiBiase
This is the latest match on the card, as it was announced on Smackdown last Night. What do I make of this? Well along with the US title, that will be  two midcard titles on the line in angles that never involved the belts themselves. If you ever needed more evidence to argue that the damn things are props, look no further than here. Oh, I guess I’ll go with Rhodes since DiBiase hasn’t exactly been made to look halfway decent. 

United States Championship Fatal Four Way: Dolph Ziggler vs Jack Swagger vs John Morrison vs Alex Riley
Not once during the Ziggler/Swagger feud did we get even a mention of the title. Hell, they’re not fighting over the damn thing; they’re fighting over the managerial services of one Vickie Guerrero. Miss Elizabeth she ain’t, I’ll tell you that. I love how this match was thrown onto the card at quite literally the last minute. I expect Swagger to screw over Dolph and take the title himself. Then we’ll see Vickie eventually turn on Ziggler which will effectively kick-start his face turn. Morrison and Riley are currently worth less than Evan Bourne as a singles competitor. They’re involved simply to give the fans someone to cheer for.

World Heavyweight Championship: Randy Orton vs Mark Henry
I’m routing for the Worlds Strongest man (10 years a go) Mark Henry to win this match. I’m tired of Orton as the go-to guy and Henry would be an interesting champion. It would definitely shake things up on Smackdown. I obviously don’t think he’d make a great champion with compelling matches, but I often wonder what we might experience with the World’s Strongest Man as World Heavyweight Champion. Let’s face it: Daniel Bryan is going nowhere at the moment, Sin Cara is in the middle of an identity crisis, and Christian is going to be fed to Sheamus. I want something fresh in the title scene and Henry can satisfy that craving.

No Disqualification Match: Triple H vs CM Punk
I’m beginning to wonder if Punk is losing his heat because this angle is killing his momentum. As it seems to be, Triple H is being portrayed as the victim here. He has yet to do anything wrong. Did he hire Kevin Nash? Allegedly, no. Did he cost Punk the title at Summerslam? He counted Cena down for the three count! Did Triple H come out and insult Punk for weeks? Hell no, he rehired the guy! This whole situation is like a bizarro Austin/McMahon scenario. In the beginning, Punk was right about a lot of things he said, but recently he’s come across as whiny and petulant. Triple H is not the overbearing, egotistical prick he was ten years ago. How are the fans supposed to rally behind Punk as the anti-authority figure when the boss hasn’t technically done anything wrong? The only way this angle would have been an absolute success would be if Punk took on a corporate stooge, but since there aren’t any around, he chose Triple H. Bad move. When Austin fought McMahon, Vince was in the middle of a heel turn and the fans ate up everything Austin did. Triple H has honestly (and I can’t believe I’m defending the guy) done NOTHING to show he’s the old Game. Don’t get me wrong, i’m just saying it as it is. I do think he still has it, but he hasn’t proved that he does. Will Nash get involved? More than likely, yes. Who will he screw? I don’t know. So, there is still unpredictably there. I think Triple H will get screwed, though, why? Read on and you’ll soon see why.

WWE Championship: Alberto del Rio vs John Cena
I like Alberto Del Rio as champion, as I said in my last column here, he’s got it all, some will agree, others didn’t, but I think he does. Unfortunately, he won the belt at a time that something bigger than the championship was at stake. When the smoke from that issue ends, Alberto might be on the outside of the main event scene looking in. After the two great PPV bouts they have had this year, I think we are going to see Punk and Cena battle it out in a Hell in a Cell match. So, therefore Cena will win.

So from what you’ve seen me writing, I have a positive and negative outtake on the PPV. Usually i’m more positive, but I have a horrible feeling inside me WWE could be dropping the ball. I sincerely hope that they aren’t. But overall I am looking forward to Nigh of Champions. I, as a UK viewer, don’t have to pay for Night of Champions as I can watch it on my Sky Sports package which I have every month anyway, for nothing extra. I’m hearing US viewers have to pay around 50 dollars or something like that, not sure if i’d pay that match, but since i’m getting it for nothing extra, why wouldn’t I watch it? Question is, will I stay up till 4 AM to watch it? Not sure, I might or I might just get up early in the Morning and watch it before I leave my house.

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed reading, please leave your comments below with thoughts, predictions, angle ideas you have etc, whatever it is regarding WWE Night of Champions, drop your comment below.